2012 in Review: A Year in the Life of a Fiddler

ImageIt’s hard to believe that another year has passed, and what a year it has been!

The highlight for me this year was being recognized as Classical Artist of the Year by Music NB.  I was shocked that I won the award, but delighted at the same time!  I figured this would be a good time to look back at my goals for the year and let you know how I did…

Goal #1:  Improving my health.  This goal is going really well!  I have become completely obsessed with food, and have been spending more time in the kitchen, and a lot more time chopping veggies!  I have lost 20lbs this year, which brings me to a total loss of 60lbs over the past 3 years.  Honestly, those weren’t the numbers I was hoping for, but I will take them!  I am really proud of myself for maintaining and continuing to loose weight over 3 years.

Goal #2:  Perform the cello in public.  I have now done my first professional gig on the cello.  I played solo cello for a wedding in October.  I was absolutely terrified, but it was a great experience, and now the next time won’t be so scary!

Goal #3:  Give back to my community more.  I still feel the need to work on this more.  I have been taking some of my groups around to perform in hospitals and retirement homes on a volunteer basis, but will be looking for more ideas for 2013.

Goal #4:  Be more proactive in my business.  Things are going really well with my business.  I have redesigned my website, gotten my in-box under control, blogged twice a month, sent out newsletters twice a month, been more active on facebook and twitter, have joined a couple of on-line fiddle forums, have been updating my records every month, and in general, just feel like I am more organized than ever before.  I still have days when I feel completely overwhelmed and that I will never get everything done, but in general I am please with how things are going!

Goal #5:  Record and release a CD of Christmas music.  This project has been tabled for right now as I don’t think it should be my focus at this time.  Perhaps you will see this goal pop up again next year!

Goal #6:  Start a series on intimate concerts in the style of house concerts.  Success!  I held a total of 6 concerts in my studio this year.  I went through a little period of doubt in the summer and was considering tabling the whole plan, but got back into it and had two great concerts in the fall.  I will definitely be continuing with this next year.

Now it is time to look ahead to the  New Year and decide where to go next!

 

2 thoughts on “2012 in Review: A Year in the Life of a Fiddler

Leave a comment